Kerala State Tourism Awards 2014 – 2015


Kerala State Tourism Awards 2014 – 2015

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Sunday presented the State Tourism Awards for 2014-15 underlining the need for integrating Kerala’s heritage and culture with the tourism sector. at Iringal Sargaalaya Crafts Village. “International and domestic tourists should get the experience of Kerala products, heritage and culture. This can be achieved only by connecting Kerala’s traditional industries with Tourism”, said Mr Vijayan.

He also said that the revamped Kozhikode airport and the Kannur Airport, which will be in operation soon, will boost tourism in Malabar area. A high-power committee under the chairmanship of Tourism Principal Secretary Dr. Venu V picked 27 winners under three categories. Tourism Minister Kadakampally Surendran, who presided over the event, said the state tourism sector’s target was 4 lakh jobs in next five years.


Best 5 star deluxe hotel: Crown Plaza,Kochi.
Best 5 star hotel: Udaya Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel, Kovalam.
Best 4 star hotel: Spice Village, Thekkady
Best 3 star hotel: Marari Beach Resort, Mararikulam.
Special mention for Heritage hotel: Coconut Lagoon, Kumarakom.
Best inbound operator: Marvel Tours Pvt Ltd, Ernakulam.
Best Ayurveda center: Somatheeram Ayurveda Beach Resort, Chowara, Kovalam
Best home stay: Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay, Kumarakom.
Best Serviced Villa: Teak Town, Malappuram.
Best hotel managers: Jayachitra – Somatheeram & Sanjay Kaushik, Crown Plaza.
Best Tourism reporting: K C Krishnakumar, Mathrubhumi.
Best Tourism club: St. Xavier’s College for Women, Alua.
Best life guard: C Mahesh, Ernakulam.
Best tourism hotel management institute: Catering college, Munnar.
Best tourism magazine: Ayurveda of FM Media Technologies.
Best treacher coordinator of tourism club: K Sheikh Muhammed, MUA College, Malappuram.
Best tourism police: Sanal Kumar, North Paravur.
Best Use of IT: The Travel Planner & Somatheeram Group.
Best Tourism photography: Arun Sridhar, Malayala Manorama.
Best Innovation (Special mention): Adventure on Wheels, Malappuram.
Best Adventure tourism operator: Calypso Adventures.
Best Tourist destination: Sargalaya Kerala Arts and Crafts Village, Iringal.
Special Mention for tourism club student coordinator: Natasha Biji Joseph, St Xavier’s College for Women, Alua.
Awards distribution: Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on 18 December 2016.

Share "Kerala State Tourism Awards 2014 – 2015" via:

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Solve : *
13 − 12 =


Thanks for looking after us for the last 5 years. We’ll be back!
“Hi Tijo I am back from India and Nepal and just catching up with life! Thank you so much for another amazing houseboat experience on the beautiful Backwaters. The crew were wonderful and the food was delicious. Thanks for looking after us for the... Read More